Post Pick: Sandy is terrorizing my life

By Meryl Gottlieb | mg986611@ohiou.edu | @buzzlightmeryl

Our media world never lets anything go unpunished. No political debate, sporting event, movie, and now even severe weather storm is left untouched by the satirical minds of frequent Internet users.

Hurricane Sandy is currently terrorizing the East Coast of the United States and bringing with it a storm of equal power in the meme world.

Yesterday alone, I learned more about Hurricane Sandy through social media posts than through any actual news or weather service outlet.

Memes, posts and prayers are overwhelming my Twitter feed, Facebook home page and Tumblr dashboard.

As serious as this storm is, I cannot help but find so much enjoyment from it. I know, I’m an awful person, but you try to look at these memes and not laugh. Can’t do it, can you?

After all, I truthfully believe that the best way to get through the dark times are to shine a light on the humor that can exist in those situations.

I have spent a few hours of my day looking on Tumblr and Twitter for hilarious posts about this storm. @HurricaaneSandy is consistently referencing Rihanna’s “Umbrella,” Kim Kardashian, Snooki, and other topics that I cannot spell out for you without getting in trouble.

However, Hurricane Sandy is causing more problems for me because of the effects it is having over my television schedule.

As you may have noticed, no new How I Met Your Mother review was uploaded tonight. Want to know why? BECAUSE IT WAS CANCELED DUE TO THE HURRICANE!!

Sure, CBS try and justify postponing the new episode until next week by saying it is because of Sandy coverage and that this repeat was “yellow umbrella worthy.” No, you just don’t want to miss out on views! You are no better than Dancing With the Stars’s extension of its polling – that’s right, you can vote later now because the worst thing about not having power is not being able to vote for a B-List celebrity who cannot dance.

Schools are closing, streets are flooding, buildings are losing power and the TV companies are worried about viewers while the Internet continually spats out new memes about the storm… what on earth is happening to our society?

I love it yet hate it at the same time.

Are you surviving the storm? Tweet @buzzlightmeryl and let me know!

Leave a comment