Deck the Green: The Grinch is Back

By Emily Bamforth | @EmilyMBamforth | eb104010@ohio.edu

Hey there, Whos! It’s within five days of Christmas, so it’s a perfect time for me to come in and bring down some pre-Christmas highs.

For those who don’t know me, I’m The Post’s resident Grinch (newspapers all have to have one… diversity). I’m the one who whines when the Athens streets are assaulted with Christmas carols and glares when stockings are hung by the chimney with care.

However, for this first post, I want to remind you I’m not alone! Here are some of my partners-in-crime in hating the holiday season.

Ebenezer Scrooge

scrooge

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Scrooge was with me in hating Christmas until ghosts decided to stage an intervention. Cold-hearted, tight-fisted and rocking a mighty fine top hat (even in duck form), Scrooge was the glorious character who coined the “Bah, Humbug” phrase. Gotta love it.

 

Oscar the Grouch

oscar

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oscar was always my favorite Sesame Street character and became even more so after he sung the merry tune “I Hate Christmas.” Even though he’s trapped in a trash can, that doesn’t prevent him from halting Christmas celebrations, even leaving his receptacle in a Muppet holiday special to mess up a pile of presents… a fuzzy monster after my own heart.

 

Grumpy Cat

I mentioned the Grumpy Cat Christmas memes last year, but they’re just too good to not bring back. So here’s one:

Screen shot 2013-12-21 at 2.20.46 AM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jack Skellington

jack
Let’s not forget that the bony protagonist tried to ruin Christmas and replace it with Halloween festivities (The Nightmare Before Christmas is one of my favorites.) With his catchy tunes and talent for throwing awesome Halloween festivities, I was rooting for Jack to succeed the entire time.

 

The Grinch (the man himself)

grinch

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Or whatever species he is. Although his plan to throw off Christmas failed, he is a role model for all us Grinches out there. And although I would never try to steal Christmas, let’s not ignore the gumption and cunning required to pull off the operation. The Grinch is a pretty smart cookie, and I appreciate his efforts.

 

Look out for my posts throughout the next few days and try not to get crushed in holiday shopping crowds (more on that later.)

Leave a Reply

