TV: Stevie Nicks preps for her role on ‘American Horror Story: Coven’

By Meryl Gottlieb| mg986611@ohiou.edu| @buzzlightmeryl
American Horror Story: Coven airs Wednesdays at 10 p.m. on FX

nicks

Stevie Nicks has played a monumental role in American Horror Story: Coven, and she hasn’t even appeared on-screen yet. But that’s all about to change soon.

Show creator Ryan Murphy tweeted a picture of the singer Tuesday night and said, “She’s here! Stevie Nicks on the set of Coven!”

Nicks will appear in episode 10, according to an interview with Murphy in Entertainment Weekly. Unfortunately, though the seventh episode is set to air tonight, the tenth episode will not air until after the show’s winter break. And that may be because we’ll be left on a cliffhanger. According to Murphy, Nicks won’t just be used in some off-handed cameo for Misty’s (Lily Rabe) pure enjoyment. She’ll be much more important than that.

“She appears as herself,” Murphy said. “It’s part of Fiona’s ruse in that Fiona is trying to get the true Supreme to reveal herself because she needs to stay alive. So she tells Misty Day that the Supreme gets so many great things in life, like tickets to the Oscars and Met Ball tickets. So she brings Stevie Nicks in as a gift to Misty to prove to her that if she exhibits more power she’ll get that and more. Then the other girls come home and see Stevie and Misty singing and it starts them trying to move much quicker to prove that they are the Supreme.”

Even though Rabe’s character is the ultra Nicks fan, the actress herself is excited for the singer’s visit.

“It definitely makes my heart race a little!” Rabe told Yahoo! TV. “I don’t know what Misty would do if she met Stevie — I’m a little bit more worried about Misty surviving that encounter. … I’d like to think that she’s fond of Misty. I can’t talk specifics or plans, but it’s such an honor to garner Stevie’s interest. It’s really cool; I definitely think she likes the show, and what an impact she has on Misty.”

“(To prepare for) Misty I definitely spent a lot of time saturating myself with Stevie videos, and I even have a photo of Stevie as the background on my phone screen,” Rabe added. “When I play someone who is madly in love or obsessed with someone, I try to have that person around me as much as possible. It was already kind of there, because I really love Stevie anyway, but I learned to turn the dial up and have as much Stevie around me as possible.”

Needless to say, I am more than excited for this episode. You know it’s going to be amazing and probably extremely important to the overall story, especially since it will be episode 10 of a 13-episode season. It has to include things that will set up the conclusion.

I can’t say it enough: This season of AHS is my absolute favorite. There has not been one episode in which I am not sitting on the edge of my seat waiting to see what happens next, laughing at the incredibly sassy dialogue or being mesmerized at the twists and turns in the story.

How is Coven shaping up for you? Are you excited for Stevie Nicks? Let me know @buzzlightmeryl

Leave a Reply

