TV: ‘American Horror Story’ renewed for fourth season

By Meryl Gottlieb| mg986611@ohiou.edu| @buzzlightmeryl
American Horror Story airs Wednesdays at 10 p.m. on FX

ahs jl

Prepared to be scared for at least one more year. FX announced Wednesday it would renew our beloved American Horror Story for a fourth season.

Though the next anthology has yet to be named, it will have 13 episodes set to air in 2014.

“Put simply, Ryan Murphy is a master television producer,” said John Landgraf, CEO of FX Networks and FX Prods. “Time and time again he reinvents the form. What he, co-creator Brad Falchuk and their producers … and the entire production team and cast responsible for the American Horror Story franchise have done is nothing short of extraordinary. Every year, they create a riveting and brilliant new miniseries.  AHS: Coven is the best yet, and I have no doubt that the next installment will be even better.”

Coven has reigned in the ratings in comparison to its preceding seasons: 2011’s Murder House and 2012’s Asylum. The third season currently averages 7.74 million viewers, and its premiere was the highest-rated episode of the entire AHS series, with 5.5 million viewers.

Coven’s finale is set to air January 29.

As of now, it is unclear as to who will return for the fourth installment. Let’s hope favorites Taissa Farmiga, Evan Peters, Sarah Paulson and Lily Rabe will return again while welcoming back Zachary Quinto and maybe even Connie Britton, who has stated she wants back on the show.

“I’ve actually been talking to them this season, because they’re down in New Orleans and I’m in Nashville. I said, ‘Okay, let’s see if we can try to figure this out,’” Britton said in an interview with The Rolling Stone.

The biggest question is of course about what Jessica Lange will do. In an interview with Buzzfeed, Lange said season four would be her last, giving one of her “signature confident grins.”

“I’ll do one more season,” she said. “That’ll be it.”

However, creator Ryan Murphy has said she’s been singing a similar tune since the beginning.

“Every year, she says, ‘OK, that’s my last one.’ But she’s already committed to the fourth series. I can see American Horror Story going 10 years, 12 years, 15 years,” Murphy said in an interview with The Hollywood Reporter. “I think it’s limitless because it re-energizes every year, and I would love for Jessica Lange to be part of it every year.”

I would too Ryan; I would too.

Coven is definitely ranking as one of my all time favorite seasons of television. The characters are all phenomenally written; the camera angles and point of views are so intriguing that even I notice them; and it is the perfect mix of the dark, scary AHS we know plus sharp, biting comedy.

Personally, I don’t think AHS would have ever taken off like it did without Lange. Constance was my favorite character in the first AHS installment and Sister Jude’s arc in season two was as complex and interesting as one would hope an arc could be — plus, it was by far the best part of a very cluttered season.

I would like to go with Murphy on this one and say I’ll believe Lange is leaving when I see it actually happen. In the mean time, I’ll be praying that she never does.

Who’s your favorite AHS alum? What theme do you want season four to explore? Let me know @buzzlightmeryl

Leave a Reply

