TV: Fall TV pick-ups and cancellations so far

By Meryl Gottlieb| mg986611@ohiou.edu| @buzzlightmeryl
Sleepy Hollow airs Mondays at 9 p.m. on Fox

Mom airs Mondays at 9:30 p.m. on CBS
The Blacklist airs Mondays at 10 p.m. on NBC
Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. airs Tuesdays at 8 p.m. on ABC
Brooklyn Nine-Nine airs Tuesdays at 8:30 p.m. on Fox

The Millers airs Thursdays at 8:30 p.m. on CBS
The Crazy Ones airs Thursdays at 9 p.m. on CBS


brooklyn99-4_3

While you’ve been busy figuring out what new shows to stay loyal to and which ones to drop, the networks have been doing the same. In a somewhat quick manner, many networks have already dropped some of its new shows while eagerly picking up others for a full freshmen season or even a second season.

Most recent in the news is Fox’s full season pick-up of police satire Brooklyn Nine-Nine. The network announced Friday that it would not only have a full first season, but it would also join New Girl in a “special one-hour comedy event” after Super Bowl XLVIII on Sunday, Feb. 2, 2014.

I’m actually extremely happy with this announcement. Brooklyn Nine-Nine is one of the few new comedies that I want to keep up with and have done so. It’s sharp, hilarious and just a great half-hour comedy. I love everything about it.

“It’s exciting to see that both critics and fans love Brooklyn Nine-Nine as much as we do,” said Fox President Kevin Reilly. “With Andy (Samberg) and Andre (Braugher) out in front of this incredible ensemble, it feels like this show is going to be around for a long time.”

While there’s good news for Fox, there’s bad news for NBC. The network dropped two new series Friday. New cop drama Ironside and “family comedy” Welcome to the Family have both been dropped.

I have absolutely no remorse for Welcome to the Family; I never saw that lasting. However, I am very shocked about the news for Ironside. As I said in my review, I thought it was a very good cop drama. Star Blair Underwood performed well and the tone was good. I’m surprised it is letting go of this show so soon.

The final episode of Ironside will air next Wednesday.  Welcome to the Family has already aired its last episode. Ouch. However, this news came at the same time of the announcement for the Community return date, which will be Jan. 2 at 8 p.m. with back-to-back episodes — so there’s some good news to that double dose of bad news.

Friday was a busy day for all the networks. CBS announced Friday it would pick-up three new comedies for a full season: The Crazy Ones, Mom and The Millers.

13_019_gplus_thecrazyones_coverThe Crazy Ones is fall’s leading new comedy in viewers (13.7 million) — a little unheard of, I feel — while The Millers is No. 2 at 12.4 million and Mom is No. 3 averaging 7.98 million viewers. So, CBS is essentially killing it in the comedy category this fall — except that hiccup with We Are Men, which was canceled after two episodes.

I love The Crazy Ones. The cast is perfect, the storylines are funny and it’s just another great new comedy. I haven’t kept up with The Millers or Mom, but I did enjoy each of their pilots and am definitely open to catching up with those shows to see where they go.

“These series are creatively distinct, continue to improve each week and are led by strong showrunners, writing and production staffs, and feature amazingly talented casts,” said CBS President Nina Tassler.

Other full season pick-ups included Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. on ABC and The Blacklist on NBC. Fox’s other major hit Sleepy Hollow will stick to the original, cable-like, 13-episode season plan for its first season but has already been picked up for a 13-episode second season.

All of these were a given. The Blacklist has soared in ratings and in views, S.H.I.E.L.D. has done pretty well for itself and Sleepy Hollow has impressed all. Personally, I think S.H.I.E.L.D. is a very good show. I know many said the second episode paled in comparison to the lavish opening but you cannot expect a Marvel movie every week. Sleepy Hollow is incredibly interesting and is bound to be a mega cult hit. I haven’t kept up with The Blacklist but I feel as if it’s your standard well-performing suspenseful drama.

ABC has also ordered three additional scripts from The Goldbergs and Trophy Wife. I can understand giving Trophy Wife the opportunity; I think there’s room to grow and much potential for this show. However, I see no reason to give The Goldbergs another chance.

What shows are you keeping up with this fall season? What shows do you want to see stick around or get the boot? Let me know @buzzlightmeryl

Leave a Reply

