TV: Insight on ‘How I Met Your Mother’ season nine

By Meryl Gottlieb| mg986611@ohiou.edu| @buzzlightmeryl
How I Met Your Mother airs on CBS

How-I-Met-Your-Mother-Season-6-Cast-Promotional-Photos-how-i-met-your-mother-15957316-2560-1920

It has been nearly two weeks since the How I Met Your Mother season eight finale, and I am still in love with the show. And in that time frame, the format of season nine has already been revealed, and I have mixed feelings toward it.

CBS entertainment chief Nina Tassler said the duration of season nine will take place in that 56 hour time frame of Barney (Neil Patrick Harris) and Robin’s (Cobie Smulders) long wedding weekend. It will also focus on how all of the other characters meet the Mother (Cristin Milioti) before Ted (Josh Radnor) actually meets her.

Yes, that does sound annoying. We have waited eight years for him to finally come close to meeting the Mother, and now that he has, we have to wait an entire season to see them interact. I must admit that my first reaction to this news was not all that pleasant. I could understand this idea if it wasn’t the entire season, just part of it. I had hoped for an episode or two to be able to see the relationship play out. We have been hearing about true love for eight years; it would be nice to get to see it.

However, I think this could also be incredibly interesting. As I’ve said before, one of the show’s greatest strengths is its ability to play with time. That is what makes the show unique, and that is what can conjure up great writing. And that is what will happen all of season nine, hopefully meaning we will get a great wrap up.

Milioti has been added as a series regular for the final season, meaning the writers know not to play hide-and-seek with the much-awaited character.

How do you feel about the format for season nine? Any opinions on Milioti? Let me know @buzzlightmeryl

Leave a Reply

