TV: NBC cancels ‘Smash’

By Meryl Gottlieb| mg986611@ohiou.edu| @buzzlightmeryl
Smash airs Saturdays at 8 p.m. on NBC

Image

With all the renewals and cancellations coming in from the networks, one decision has been on the minds of many all season-long: Would NBC even consider renewing Smash?

Despite many fans’ pleas for a continuation, NBC officially cancelled Smash on Friday evening.

But with a move from Tuesday nights to Saturday nights, can anyone say they are truly surprised?

Smash showrunner Josh Safran told TV Line he had hoped for a different outcome.

“We’re all aware that the show is not successful, but I goes I had hoped we would see what happened when The Voice came back (or) maybe they’d move us to a better time slot.”

Still, I’m not sure what they were expecting. Ratings have plunged 25 and 39 percent since the first season finale, along with hits in viewership, according to TV Line.

According to Buzzfeed, even the show’s creator, and original showrunner, Theresa Rebeck, called the second season a “complete disaster.”

Somewhat accurate but harsh.

I have not re-watched the first season — and let’s face it no one should waste their time doing that — but I am not sure I can definitely declare the second season worse than the first. I mean both were pretty bad. The second season, however, had original songs that I cannot get out of my head. While the songs from Bombshell are good, the songs from Hit List are unbelievably amazing. In neither season did I find the acting to be decent. In neither season were the characters truly developed. I hate-watched both seasons, so who can really declare one better than the other?

While my reviews may soon be a thing of the past, we still have three more episodes left. The two-hour season finale will air Sunday, May 26 at 9 p.m.

Leave a Reply

