TV: ‘Glee’ spills its “guilty pleasures”

By Meryl Gottlieb| mg986611@ohiou.edu| @buzzlightmeryl
Glee airs Thursdays at 9 p.m. on Fox
Rating: 3.75/5

894976_10151509718797044_1819983742_o

Tonight’s theme of “Guilty Pleasures” has left me with mixed feelings. Yes, the Glee writers and I share some of the same guilty pleasures, so I enjoyed the song choices. However, the storyline at McKinley was weak in comparison to the one in New York.

Sam (Chord Overstreet) confesses his guilty pleasure for doing macaroni art that is actually incredibly amazing. Shout out to whoever on the crew made those; they’re awesome! Blaine (Darren Criss) then confesses his love for Wham! Their sharing prompts the two to lead the glee club this week, for Schue is conveniently absent, in an assignment to perform their guilty pleasures.

I’d like to take one moment to discuss my issue with Will. Can he just leave the show? His character has deteriorated since season one and now he isn’t on the show half of the time. Matthew, stop wasting your talents.

Because of Blaine’s love, the glee club performs “Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go” and is dressed as stereotypically ‘80s as possible. Pastels galore!

One of my favorite ongoing gags, Fondue for Two, is back! This time Brittany (Heather Morris) interviews Kitty (Becca Tobin) so that people can start understanding her and stop thinking she’s so terrible.

tumblr_mk1132B1hf1rxyf78o1_250

tumblr_mk1132B1hf1rxyf78o8_250

 

 

 

 

I must admit that I do not hate her anymore. Shocker, I know! Read any of my reviews from the first handful of episodes of this season and you know I loathed that character with every fiber of my being. Now, her dialogue is actually hilarious; it reminds me of the wit Santana (Naya Rivera) use to snap out during glee club meetings.

I’d like to proclaim that the old Kurt (Chris Colfer) has finally resurfaced for good. His dialogue is witty again and the character is finally more than some pedestal the show stood on to show that it was trying to address the issues teenagers face. Oh how I missed you! Not to mention the fact that his guilty pleasures include working out with Richard Simmons and a pillow shaped like an arm that he cuddles with at night.

Sam has another guilty pleasure: he’s a “Fanilow,” as in a Barry Manilow fan. He acts like it is something that people would truly reject him for; listen, that is not that big of a deal. They are all acting like their guilty pleasures are some major secret. Yes, you may not tell everyone about it but it is NOT that big of a deal. Here’s the weak storyline I mentioned earlier.

Then, he sings “Copacabana” and I love my life for those few minutes. As a fellow Fanilow, “Copacabana” is, of course, a favorite. However, it does make me anxious to visit Havana.

Kitty confesses her guilty pleasure is the Spice Girls. Excuse me, I am a loud and proud lover of the Spice Girls! Girl power! Spice Force Five! Sue me, I’ve loved them since I was 5-years-old.

Jake (Jacob Artist) wants to do a Chris Brown song as his guilty pleasure assignment, but all the girls overly freak out about it, saying that is unacceptable because of Brown’s past actions. While I agree that Brown is a terrible person, I also agree with Jake when he says that just because he likes his music doesn’t mean that he’s admiring him as a role model. Wow, that would be insightful if five girls weren’t yelling at him.

Brody (Dean Geyer) has left, without giving Rachel (Lea Michele) a good reason. When Rachel mentions the possibility of the two getting back together, Santana tells her the truth about Brody. Would you have ever imagined this situation happening? Oh how the tables have turned since season one.

Blaine performs “Against All Odds (Take a Look at Me Now)” to show his Phil Collins guilty pleasure. I don’t get how Phil Collins would be a guilty pleasure but whatever. As usual, I swooned over Darren’s voice. Obviously, this song is about his crush on Sam. Not really amused that they used this beautiful song to convey a crush, but I’m done being picky with Glee.

Glee'sSpiceGirls4x17The girls perform “Wannabe,” and I’m not sure how I feel about it. I love the Spice Girls with an unwavering passion; I always have, which is why I think I didn’t like the cover. Their harmony just was not up to par to the flawlessness that the Spice Girls had. Plus, Heather Morris should have done the rap.

Instead of doing Chris Brown, Jake performs “My Prerogative.” Dumb me thought he was covering Britney Spears, not realizing that Bobby Brown originally did this song (cue slap to the forehead). The dancing was spectacular! Jacob finally got to show his ballet and dancing background. However, his froggy vocals were still not my favorite.

Rachel confronts Brody and tries to give him money in an attempt to mock him. Did anyone else think of Moulin Rouge during that scene? Just me?

The two officially break up but sing one last song together: “Creep” by Radiohead. I love this song! I actually think they did a good job using it and performing it. I think, again, that it could have been used in a better way for another storyline, but again, I’ve stopped being picky.

Sam tells Blaine that he knows about his crush on him. Unlike the Finn (Cory Monteith) and Kurt situation in season one, Sam doesn’t call Blaine a derogatory term. Instead, the two hug it out. While I think the season one issue was portrayed realistically, I adore the Blam bromance.

Rachel tells Kurt and Santana the news, as those two sit on the couch with their own arm pillows. She thanks Santana for telling her the truth and sticking by her. Never doubt the Mexican third eye!

Tumblr_mj7pgjC4hf1qg49w0o3_1280In one last guilty pleasure indulgence, Rachel suggests watching Mamma Mia and then begins to sing the title song. When Rachel sings and scenes in New York were spectacular; however, I was less thrilled with the parts in McKinley. The wardrobe was unnecessary. Of course, the moment was saved when clips of the cast simply goofing around were thrown in with the choreography. I love those people and their weirdness.

Small moments truly saved the episode (like the moment pictured above). Glee needs to get its act together or it’s going to become one of my guilty pleasures where I won’t admit to anyone that I watch it.

Leave a Reply

