TV: ‘How I Met Your Mother’ officially renewed for 9th and final season

By Meryl Gottlieb| mg986611@ohiou.edu| @buzzlightmeryl
How I Met Your Mother airs Mondays at 8 p.m. on CBS

SEGEL, HANNIGAN, RADNOR, SMULDERS, HARRIS

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In December, Deadline reported that a ninth season was set in stone for HIMYM, and now CBS has confirmed the report.

The show’s next season will be its last. While I’m sad one of my favorite shows will be ending, I must say I’m happy it won’t be dragged on longer than necessary (here’s looking to you, The Office).

As stated in my initial post about the ninth season announcement (http://wp.me/p2lwJZ-fe), the full original cast (Jason Segel, Alyson Hannigan, Cobie Smulders, Neil Patrick Harris and Josh Radnor) and the creators will all return for its final season.

Entertainment Weekly and The Huffington Post both interviewed Chairmen of 20th Century Fox Television Dana Walden and Gary Newman, who said, “We‘re thrilled to have the entire and incredibly talented How I Met Your Mother cast back for one final season to bring the series to a proper close. Carter Bays and Craig Thomas are masterful and hilarious storytellers, and we have no doubt that they will guide one of the greatest comedies of the last decade to a gratifying conclusion when they finally reveal the identity of the Mother.”

My only hope is that they make this ninth and final season worthwhile. Please.

Leave a Reply

