Film: ‘Movie 43’ Might Make Viewers Lose Brain Cells

By Nathan Gordon | ng312310@ohiou.edu | @GordonRises
Movie 43 | Directed by Elizabeth Banks, Steven Brill, Steve Carr, Rusty Cundieff, James Duffy, Griffin Dunne, Peter Farrelly, Patrik Forsberg, James Gunn, Bob Odenkirk, Brett Ratner and Jonathan van Tulleken  | Rated R
RATING: 2/5

Image

First Words

As I walked into the theater to see Movie 43, I knew I wasn’t going to see a heartfelt movie like The Help (inside joke for those who’ve seen Movie 43). I knew I was going to see a movie that wasn’t going to be in the slightest any way serious, but even with those somewhat low standards I was still partially let down.

Plot

Charlie Wessler (Dennis Quaid) pitches his idea for a movie to movie studio executive Griffin Schraeder (Greg Kinnear). His idea proceeds to play out through several different segments culminating in what would be the most ridiculous film ever made.

Positives

When Peter Farrelly, who is one of the films directors and producers, is involved in a film, you can expect humor that can be simply described as dumb. Movie 43 keeps that trend up. Yes, the film is predominately with humor that many people classify as “stupid,” but there still is quite a few moments where laughter can’t be avoided. I openly admit to finding some of the dumbest things funny, so it didn’t come as a shock to me that I was laughing more often than the rest of the people in the audience. The standout segments of the film were clearly Homeschooled and Victory’s Glory.

Movie 43 is clearly filled with many familiar faces from Hollywood, so you’re bound to come across some of your personal favorites on screen. Seeing a film with some of your favorite actors in it is always a bright spot, but seeing them act completely silly in a film where they don’t have to take it too seriously makes it a little more intriguing.

Negatives

Earlier I glossed over how this film clearly has an immature sense of humor, but let me touch back on that. Yes, the film’s dumb moments were funny at numerous times throughout. But even those moments piled on top of the film’s DUMBEST points makes for a film that is hard to be on board with. Many of the segments might have fared better as sketches made for television. This especially feels evident in the Super Hero Speed Dating segment. Seeing goofy looking Batman and Robin customs got old quickly, but it isn’t all bad, thanks to the comedic dialogue by Jason Sudeikis, who plays Batman. Movie 43 brings the laughs, but all those laughs are surrounded by too many immature moments.

I wondered how all the segments in the film would be tied together and the storyline introduced an idea that had potential until it quickly faltered. I thought the film would play out as several failed movie pitches, but unfortunately it turned out to be one big movie idea filled with several different segments. I know the plot was intentionally dumb, so that it plays as another funny element, but it just felt like a lazy approach to the premise of having many different segments play out in one film.

Last Words

I’m sure Movie 43 will be completely dismissed by those who have or even haven’t seen it. There is no problem with that, but I still believe this film can be found entertaining. You just have to go into the movie knowing that you’re not about to watch the most brain-stimulating film. That’s what I did, and even though I was even surprised by how consistently immature it was, I still found myself laughing.

Leave a Reply

