Nathan’s Top 10 Films of 2012

By Nathan Gordon | ng312310@ohiou.edu | @GordonRises

ImageThis list is comprised of my personal favorite films from the past year so I’m sure people will disagree with the order and even the movies themselves. Before I jump into the list I must mention that well received movies like Lincoln, Zero Dark Thirty, and Argo won’t appear on this list because I didn’t get around to seeing those films (actually when it comes to Argo I just fell asleep on it).

Let’s start with the Honorable Mentions:

12. Celeste & Jesse Forever

This is a comedy that many people don’t know about but should. It examines the interesting concept of a separated married couple still having best friend type of relationship.

11. Skyfall

The best bond film I have ever seen.

Now on to the highly anticipated (or not anticipated at all) Top 10:

10. The Perks of Being a Wallflower

This film, about an individual dealing with so much all while trying to find where he fits in his new school, found me more entertained than I expected to be when I walked in. I was very impressed with the storyline and predominately young cast.

9. The Cabin in the Woods

This “scary” movie poking fun at the whole concept of intended scary movies was very interesting to watch. Finally seeing the people behind all the dumb decisions made in horror films played out so well, even during the outrageous final act (you’ll understand once you see the movie).

8. 21 Jump Street

Even though this film stars Jonah Hill, I was surprised at how funny it was. A pure comedy throughout that found me laughing the hardest I laughed in a theater all year…until another movie came out (keep reading and it’ll make sense).

7. Looper

This film has one of the most interesting plots I’ve seen since Inception. The cat-and-mouse chase in the film plays out impressively all the way through the twist at the end.

6. Chronicle

This found footage style film engulfs the viewer in the journey three friends go through after acquiring telekinetic powers. Your emotions are wrapped up in the story as you experience the highs and lows with those three friends.

5. Silver Linings Playbook

Bradley Cooper successfully transitioned to playing a more dramatic role all while still blending in comedy. Jennifer Lawrence showed once again that she is not just one of the best young actresses but one of the best actresses around right now.

4. Ted

I’m a huge fan of Seth Macfarlane and all of his work so it came as no shock to me that this was the funniest movie I seen all year. For now, this is the closest thing to a Family Guy movie that I have and I’m going to cherish that.

3. The Dark Knight Rises

All though not better than The Dark Knight, this film is still a great in its own right. I wouldn’t have watched five times since it’s been released if I didn’t feel that way. Christopher Nolan ended his Batman trilogy on a very high note thanks to another great story and great cast.

2.  Django Unchained

Quentin Taratino has become one of my favorite directors with the unique style of films he’s become known for. With this film he took a controversial subject like slavery and added bounty hunters, comedy, and of course violence to create one of the most talked about movies of the year.

AND NOW DRUM ROLL PLEASE! (Insert drum roll sound)

1. The Avengers

I’m a big fan of the Marvel Universe that has been created through film. I had my doubts about how the film would come together all while aching for its release years in advance. The finale product was the most entertaining movie I seen from start to finish.

Leave a Reply

