TV: ‘Swan Song’ revisits ‘Glee’’s roots

By Meryl Gottlieb| mg986611@ohiou.edu| @buzzlightmeryl
Glee airs Thursdays at 9 p.m. on Fox
Rating: 4/5

Swan_SongBGIGE

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ryan Murphy, this flippity-floppityness with your shows is messing with my anxiety levels as well as with my heart. Last week’s Glee was pretty awful and that’s been a trend, however you continually throw curveballs after those horrors and remind me why I watch the show. While tonight was not perfect, it certainly was a huge pick me up from last week.

The New Directions lost Sectionals, and the Warblers won, meaning that the glee club is done competing for the season.

But how on earth will the glee club continue to perform the pop hits if they can’t compete? Was that bitter? I think I’m the only one who is happy they lost; maybe the show will become rational once again and not just focus on the big performances.

Apparently there’s this big thing at NYADA called the Winter Showcase. Rachel (Lea Michele) gets invited to perform, which is a big deal, so yay for her ego.

Sue (Jane Lynch) has returned to her old self, and I just love life! Because the glee club lost, their season is over, so Sue is taking over the choir room – leaving the glee club with absolutely no place to practice.

tumblr_men5t4kdob1qm7zayo1_r1_250Though Sue is happy the glee club has ended, she feels guilty. Until, Brad (Brad Ellis) – you know the guy that plays piano for the glee club and actually has never been named in the show, I just know that much about Glee – enters saying how much he has detested the glee club and how they always just say “Hit it” and expect him to know what they’re going to sing.

I love this man. I have never laughed so hard. While it may seem like I love Darren Criss the most, I actually love Brad Ellis the most – now and forever.

Following a line of cheerios, Brittany (Heather Morris) meets with Sam (Chord Overstreet), who tells her that he likes her. The two perfectly duet to “Somethin’ Stupid.” Just as they are about to kiss, Brittany backs off – not because of Sam’s froggy lips – but because of HER FANDOM! Yes, they address the crazy fandom that is Brittana. This was just perfect.

Rachel and Cassandra (Kate Hudson) square off to “All That Jazz.” Really? What about this song screams dance off to you? Also, stop ruining Chicago songs. None of the ones ever performed on this show have been good. Stop it. I must say though that Cassandra won.

tumblr_ltsyuvbYv11qhl9caKurt (Chris Colfer) re-applies to NYADA and visits Carmen Tibideaux (Whoopi Goldberg) at her office. Whoopi doesn’t have time for that Kurt. However, I was terribly, let’s just say upset, when she said his audition was devoid of depth. Are you kidding me? That’s the reason he’s been denied admission?! I’m not even getting into this.

Every glee club member joins another group so they can compete in something – way to give up so quickly guys. Geez. Most notably, Blaine (Darren Criss) and Tina (Jenna Ushkowitz) join the Cheerios. I just like seeing a man in uniform. Is that so wrong?

Finn (Cory Monteith) is then upset with everyone for abandoning glee club so soon. Marley (Melissa Benoist) says she will stay on, but no one cares because they are all mad at her for making them lose. Excuse me while I rant for a moment: HOW IS NO ONE HATING ON KITTY (Becca Tobin)? She is the reason for Marley’s fainting; she’s a heartless… Ah! Why does no one realize her evil like I do?!

Brittany invites Sam on a date because she doesn’t want to miss out on any more chances this year. And the Brittana fandom throws bricks at their TVs as the two kiss. Guys, chill; Brittany herself said you should understand and that “love is love.”

I’m not too sure how I feel about this pairing; let’s just see how long it lasts.

Rachel’s ego is a bit insane as she prepares to perform for the Winter Showcase. Brody (Dean Geyer) gives her a pep talk – though she clearly doesn’t need it – and the two kiss. Boy, there are going to be a lot of angry posts on Tumblr tonight.

Rachel performs “Being Good Isn’t Good Enough” and blows it out of the park! I’ll admit, I disagree with the portrayal of Rachel’s character since season one ended, but I never stopped loving her voice. Lea Michele is the Patti LuPone, Barbra Streisand and Liza Minnelli – famed and beloved vocalists for those of you who are uncultured – of our generation, and I love it.

However, I was then quite disenchanted when she followed that flawless performance with “O’ Holy Night.” You cannot follow the big number with a typical performance. You should have left it with the Streisand song. Also, can we talk about the standing ovations at the end of her performances? Bit much don’t you think?

Carmen then announces that Kurt will perform next. He performs “Being Alive” and brings me back to the moment in which I loved him the most – his performance of “I Want To Hold Your Hand.” Tears.

Rachel wins the Winter Showcase. She then calls Finn to talk with him, but it turns into a conversation about the true meaning of glee club – the love of the music, not competing. Thank you. Ryan Murphy, listen to your own words.

Thinking no one else will join them in their attempt to bring the glee club back together Finn and Marley begin “Don’t Dream It’s Over,” but of course the rest of the groups comes back and they end up as a big happy family again.

Oh yeah, one small detail – Kurt got accepted to NYADA!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

