TV: How a kiki and Santana saved the ‘Glee’ Thanksgiving

By Meryl Gottlieb| mg986611@ohiou.edu| @buzzlightmeryl
Glee airs Thursdays at 9 p.m. on Fox
Rating: 2.5/5

Glee-4x08-1I can tell the show is trying to return to its original flawlessness – clues are all around – yet it just can’t quite make it, and I doubt it ever will.

Quinn (Dianna Agron), Puck (Mark Salling), Mercedes (Amber Riley), Santana (Naya Rivera), Mike (Harry Shum Jr.) and Finn (Cory Monteith) all sing a mash-up of “Homeward Bound” and “Home” because, you know, they are all back home. Smart, right? Now, this would be a fantastic idea had four out of those six not already come back home, several times. Nothing makes me more bitter than seeing them all flock back to McKinley; have a life!

Finn has the graduates mentor some members of the New Directions in preparation for Sectionals. Just putting Mercedes and Wade (Alex Newell) next to one another was phenomenal; though unfortunately nothing else ever happened with it. However, of course, Kitty (Becca Tobin) is paired with Quinn, and she couldn’t be happier; and, of course, this pair is played out. I want to puke – no pun intended towards Marley (Melissa Benoist).

Throughout the entire episode, Jake (Jacob Artist) and Ryder (Blake Jenner) continually try to be good bros for one another and it is just annoying. Stop saying “dude” all of the time; it’s sickening. I don’t hate your characters, but if you keep this up; I will.

Rachel (Lea Michele) and Kurt (Chris Colfer) have decided to not go home for Thanksgiving because of their relationship drama. Instead, they are going to do Thanksgiving with one another. When I’m living in New York with my gay best friend, who I’ll find quickly because I love musicals, I want this to happen.

Santana, Quinn and Brittany (Heather Morris) show up the girls of the glee club with “Come See About Me” in the style of how they performed their first song, “Say a Little Prayer,” back in season one. I reminisced, and it was marvelous.

Kitty has a picture of Quinn in her locker, making me think that within the next episode or two, Kitty will kill Quinn.

After settling their differences, Brody (Dean Geyer) pretty much invites himself over to Rachel and Kurt’s Thanksgiving. So after sleeping with her enemy, you just expect to waltz your way back into her life? – No dancing pun intended, I promise!

Kurt then invites Isabelle (Sarah Jessica Parker) and her friends over for Thanksgiving as well.

Quinn and Santana have one of the best interactions I have ever watched! First off, can I applaud Santana forever because of what she said about Kitty: “The bitch is pure evil.” THANK YOU! Finally, someone else realizes this!!

The two then get into a fight filled the witty, bitchy remarks I have missed so much. The kind of mean that is more so funny. Quinn thinks Santana is jealous of her “success” at Yale, which includes getting into a snobby sorority and dating a professor. Yeah, be proud of that. Then there’s a slap fest! I missed when those two fight; it’s great entertainment.

Brody and Rachel manhandle the turkey. Just thought you ought to know.

Also throughout this entire episode, Marley is freaking out about the Sectionals performance because she is a key player but also because her mind is twisted since she hasn’t eaten anything. Even after Santana found the laxatives in Marley’s bag, nothing has been done to stop her! Are you kidding me?!

The Warblers perform “Whistle” for Sectionals. Ugh. First off, another dumb choice for a show choir performance, this displays no vocal ability. Second, Hunter (Nolan Gerard Funk) is terrible at lip-syncing and his facial expressions when singing are just weird. Go away.

Their second song, however, was better, even though I hate One Direction; Sebastian (Grant Gustin) sang “Live While We’re Young.” This song matches the Warblers’ style in song and dance. Stop trying to cover all the pop hits – think about the choices, please.

Now, my favorite part of the episode, which has been stuck in my head, on repeat:

Isabelle, Kurt and friends sing, “Let’s Have a Kiki.” I had never heard of this song before tonight’s episode, but can I just say it’s fabulous. When I watched the episode, I was instantly into the song but couldn’t figure out why. I still have no clue, but it is so incredibly catchy. I withdraw anything negative I ever said about SJP’s character because I now love her. Kurt was also wonderful in this as well; the sass that was overwhelming in season one but has dwindled since was revisited in this song.

tumblr_meaad71IXq1r7xsn2o4_250

Check this link out and catch the kiki fever: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eGCD4xb-Tr8&feature=plcp  You can thank me later.

The song is mashed with “Turkey Lurkey Time” from the Broadway show “Promises, Promises.” While the two do not fit at all, both songs, independent of the other, are great.

Kurt calls Blaine (Darren Criss), telling him that he believes that Blaine is sorry but just isn’t ready to forgive him. However, he still misses him and wants to meet up over Christmas! Tumblr will be abuzz tonight.

Now for the ridiculous part of tonight’s episode, when New Directions does “Gangnam Style.” Tina (Jenna Ushkowitz) doesn’t even sound like herself. It seemed auto-tuned for the most part and was just stupid to do at all. I don’t even want to talk about it.

At the end of the performance, amid the confetti, Marley faints. And I don’t really care because I’m totally over this storyline. What happened to her? My original thoughts were that she was going to be the big breakout star; not with this terrible storyline you’re not! Also, I’m going to reiterate again as to what on earth would be wrong with a pretty normal person being in glee club; it’s not against the law. Geez.

Leave a Reply

