TV: Finally, some insight into the future of HIMYM

By Meryl Gottlieb | mg986611@ohiou.edu | @buzzlightmeryl
How I Met Your Mother airs Mondays at 8 p.m. on CBS
Rating: 3.5/ 5

Well it’s about time that we get a little closer to the future we all know bits and pieces about.

Robin (Cobie Smulders) and Nick (Michael Trucco) have hit a rough patch – largely because their relationship relied on what Sheldon Cooper of The Big Bang Theory likes to describe as coitus.

Nick pulled his groin muscle while playing basketball for Marshall’s (Jason Segel) team. Ted (Josh Radnor) also apparently has a basketball group. Uh, no. You’re Ted Mosby, you shall do nothing of the sort. Oh, what, you use architectural skills to figure out how to play? Oh, that’s approved.

Robin no longer wants to be with Nick because now that they aren’t having sex all of the time, they talk, and she’s realized how dumb he is. Oh how I love a good gender role reversal; hence, why I love Robin as much as I do.

However, I wasn’t pleased with this reasoning. Nick has been on this entire season and not once was he portrayed as dumb. If you are planning out that a character is leaving – we all knew he and Robin weren’t going to last forever – then you should have brought that idea into the picture an episode or two ago. While it wouldn’t have had to been over-the-top to the point of making the audience wonder why on earth Robin is with him, it would have been better then suddenly dumping this idea out of nowhere.

Lily’s (Alyson Hannigan) hormones are out of control. I would feel insanely uncomfortable if I ever heard anyone else talk the way she did in this episode; however, Lily is Lily, and Alyson Hannigan is a comedic goddess. This has been a continual gag with Lily – constantly making very dirty references or making advances towards Robin – and I love them all.

During one of Lily’s rants about Nick and Robin though, I believe she makes an American Pie reference. She creates a fantasy of the two and a foreigner named Nadia — I don’t know why, but I always thoroughly enjoy a good reference. It makes the life worth living.

Once again, the whole basketball thing and Lily’s imagination are just ways of tying in she and Marshall to the episode. They apparently haven’t been alone together since before Marvin was born and blah. Please, writers, find some storyline for the two rather than just comedic relief.

Robin tries to break up with Nick one night, but he isn’t wearing a shirt and his delicious torso makes for a rather sexy elephant in the room. Have I mentioned that I love Robin? Cobie Smulders deserves more attention, and I cannot express how happy I am that she was in that little movie from this past summer (The Avengers, I think it was called. Maybe you’ve heard of it).

Barney (Neil Patrick Harris) is sick of Robin’s putzing around and threatens her with the creation of “Robin and Patrice’s BFF Fun Day.” Patrice (Ellen D. Williams) is the clingy girl at work Robin has continually attempted to avoid. Terrified, Robin agrees to try harder.

She decides to take Nick to “Splitsville,” a dessert place in which many breakups happen because you don’t have to sit through an entire dinner to get to the end. Ok writers, good for you. I actually commend you for this; I rather enjoyed it.

Nick, however, does not understand any of the colloquial phrases Robin uses such as “We shouldn’t see each other anymore” or “It isn’t working out between us.” Oh come on, no one is that dumb.

While in the bathroom, Robin calls the gang and says she’s can’t do it, but Barney reminds her of the “BFF Fun Day” and makes her stay on speakerphone until she breaks up with Nick.

Whenever she comes back, Nick tells Robin he can have sex again, and Robin begins to succumb – I mean he may be dumb but have you seen him.

Barney then appears at Splitsville and tells Nick that they have to break up because he and Robin are in love! Here are the words that melted my heart: “This woman has a hold on my heart that I could not break if I wanted to. And there have been times that I wanted to…It has been overwhelming, and humbling, and even painful at times. But I could not stop loving her anymore than I could stop breathing. I am hopelessly, irretrievably, in love with her. More than she knows.”

Afterwards, Barney tries to play it off that he was faking that love scene but we all know that IS NOT TRUE! Robin also knows that he’s lying about lying and the two are so close to reigniting their relationship when Patrice calls because Barney accidentally sent the invitation. Thus, all romance is ruined.

While I am obviously overjoyed that Barney and Robin are that much closer to being together, I wasn’t thrilled with the rest of the episode. Step it up writers. Give the other characters something to work for as well.

Leave a Reply

