Post Pick: ‘Girls’


Ask anyone who knows me and they will tell you I’m a TV junkie. I watch so many TV shows that it’s a miracle I get anything done. So adding another show for me to keep up with was not in my plans, until I finally watched Girls from HBO. I’ll admit, the commercials for the show were frustrating, and as much as I love Lena Dunham, I just thought Girls did not look promising. I couldn’t have been more wrong about it though. The show is witty and has a certain “realness” to it. The people aren’t all gorgeously beautiful and perfectly done-up: They all look like real people you’d see walking down the street. And when comments are made about Hannah’s (Lena Dunham) weight, it’s refreshing that she legitimately is a few pounds overweight. I know that sounds horrible, but shows such as 30 Rock make jokes about Liz Lemon being overweight when Tina Fey is far from that. From the clothes to the make-up to the storyline, Girls actually feels honest and real, and that’s why I love it.

Nicolien Buholzer is a sophomore studying journalism and Culture Editor of The Post. Love to chat TV? Email her at nb360409@ohiou.edu or find her on Twitter @nicobuholzer.

Leave a Reply

